May 20, 2019

In celebration of the 30th anniversary of the Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship (MMUF) program, the Mellon Foundation has produced Toward a More Inclusive Academy: MMUF at 30, a short film about the program. 

October 17, 2022

MMUF PhD Saida Grundy, currently an assistant professor of sociology at Boston University, was recently interviewed by Inside Higher Education about her new book on Morehouse College, Respectable: Politics and Paradox in Making the Morehouse Man (University of California Press, 2022). Dr.

October 15, 2022

(Photo credit: John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation)

October 29, 2021

MMUF PhD Erica Armstrong Dunbar has launched a multiple-book publishing program with Simon & Schuster to produce seven books for adults and children. Dr.

September 28, 2021

MMUF PhD Monica Muñoz Martinez, currently Associate Professor of History at the University of Texas at Austin, is among the 25 recipients of the 2021 MacArthur Fellowship. She is one of two MMUF PhDs (along with film historian Jacqueline Stewart) in this year's cohort of winners.

September 28, 2021

MMUF PhD Jacqueline Stewart, currently Chief Artistic and Programming Officer at Los Angeles' Academy Museum of Motion Pictures and Associate Professor of Cinema and Media Studies at the University of Chicago, is among the 25 recipients of the 2021 MacArthur Fellowship. She is one of two MMUF PhDs (along with public historian Monica Muñoz Martinez) in this year's cohort of winners.

July 16, 2021

A special feature published on the Mellon Foundation's website spotlights the stories of five MMUF fellows from the class of 2021 who are graduating from college in an exceptionally difficult academic year that has upended many of academia's operating assumptions and complicated the plans of many individual students.

April 18, 2021

MMUF PhD Joshua Bennett,  an assistant professor of English and creative writing at Dartmouth College and a poet and literary critic, is the winner of two major 2021 awards: the Guggenheim Fellowship in American Literature and the Whiting Award for poetry and nonfiction.

April 12, 2021

Roland Smith, veteran coordinator of the MMUF program at Rice University, was recently honored by the American Association of Blacks in Higher Education as the first recipient of an achievement award named after him. The AABHE's Dr. Roland B. Smith Jr. Leadership Award recognizes Dr.